Sage & Butternut Squash Breakfast Bake

fullsizeoutput_20d1

You know what’s incredible? Living in a place where the seasons change, it gets chilly in Autumn, freezing in the Winter, and warm in Spring and Summer. In no way am I hating on my home state of California, but my favorite places I’ve lived in my life are those characteristic of having 4 seasons. There’s something so simple and beautiful about seeing the leaves change from green to fiery orange and red before falling off to prepare for the harsher weather ahead. As I near closer to my semester of student teaching, I can’t shake the thoughts of finding a place in the world I can call home, even if temporarily, to teach and live for a few years or even permanently. My heart is in California, a comfortable choice. My mind tells me to explore other states. Other states that have 4 seasons and give me so much life and room to explore. Colorado, the Pacific Northwest, and possibly even Arizona where I am now, are all viable choices and it’s exciting for me to begin thinking about these things!

With that said, Fall is alive and well here in Flagstaff, leaving me craving those classic Fall flavors for every single meal! And I literally mean every single one. I wouldn’t doubt it if my roommates think I’m crazy for putting pumpkin pie spice in my morning cup, pumpkin into my spaghetti squash sauce, and roasting up a huge tray of fall squash for dinner. I’m OBSESSED to say the very least. At this point in our journey together, I’m sure you all know how much I love to meal prep food for the week so that when the insanity that is Monday-Friday hits, I have quick meals that simply need to be reheated and BOOM, food’s ready. I came across this recipe from Juli Bauer of PaleOMG.com and knew I had to try it immediately. Butternut squash and sage pair so very well together, and it honestly tastes like all the flavors of Fall in one single bite. I hope you enjoy this recipe, and check out Juli’s site for more gluten free friendly, delicious recipes.

fullsizeoutput_20da

Recipe from paleOMG.com

Sage & Butternut Squash Breakfast Bake

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Print

Ingredients

-2 cups diced butternut squash

-2 tablespoons ghee

-1 lb breakfast sausage

-1 tablespoon minced sage, plus a few leaves for garnish

-10 eggs, whisked

-salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 and grease an 8×8 baking dish. Set aside. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and toss the butternut squash with the ghee and a pinch of salt. Roast for about 20 minutes until tender and slightly browned. Reduce oven to 350.
  2. Meanwhile, cook the breakfast sausage in a saute pan over medium heat until no longer pink, breaking into small pieces as it cooks.
  3. Combine the eggs with the roasted butternut squash, sausage, sage, and salt + pepper. Pour mixture into baking dish and top with remaining sage leaves. Bake 30-40 minutes until set in the middle.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Susan says:

    Yum! Sounds so delicious I can’t wait to make it! Your recipies are inspiring

    Like

Leave a Reply

