Vanilla Berry Chia Pudding

During school weekdays it’s an extremely rare occasion for me to actually have time for a sit down breakfast, especially when classes start at 8 AM! I usually find myself having breakfast on my way to class while simultaneously sipping coffee and brushing up on material to prepare myself for pop quizzes. Yeah, mornings are stressful.

IMG_3670

Chia pudding is a fabulous breakfast choice that can easily be eaten on the go. Packed with fiber, protein, omega-3 fatty acids, and other vitamins and minerals, these little seeds are sure to keep you full and energized throughout your whole morning!

The creaminess from the coconut milk is my favorite part of this recipe. It tastes like such an indulgence but is so good for your health! I must admit, I was terrified to try this for the first time because I have this weird thing about slimy foods. I cannot stand regular pudding, jello, oysters, or other slimy suspects, and expected this to have the same gross consistency. Pretty sure for the first time in my life, I was so happy to be wrong! It is creamy, but the chia provides a slight crunch that I can’t get enough of.

As if this didn’t convince you enough to try chia pudding, it can be made way in advance and stored in the fridge all week. Meal prep win! Double or even triple the recipe and have breakfasts ready all week long. The longer it sits, the more moisture the seeds absorb, so you may need to add a touch of almond or coconut milk to thin to the consistency you like. I make these at least twice a week and they’re a life (and time) saver every single time. Enjoy!

IMG_3680IMG_3685

Vanilla Berry Chia Pudding

  • Servings: 2
  • Print

Ingredients

-1 can light, or full fat coconut milk

-5 Tablespoons organic chia seeds

-1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

-1 packet stevia OR 2 Tablespoons honey or maple syrup

-fresh raspberries and blueberries for topping

Directions

  1. In Tupperware or large mason jar, add coconut milk and chia seeds. Whisk to combine.
  2. Add in vanilla extract and sweetener and mix again.
  3. Let sit on the counter for 20 minutes. Mix again to fully incorporate chia seeds with the milk.
  4. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours, or overnight. Serve chilled topped with berries and a drizzle of honey if desired!

Leave a Reply

