Chocolate Raspberry Almond Tart

I’m having a grade A panic attack and need chocolate STAT. Like seriously, all the chocolate and maybe some liquid encouragement too. (sorry, mom) Can we talk about the fact that I’m leaving for Arizona in approx. 3 days and have so much to get done before I go? Haircut, keratin treatment, mani pedi, clothes shopping, apartment shopping, oil change, you know. All the “essentials” that get done before school starts. Between running from Target to Bed Bath and Beyond to the mall and Lord knows where else, I’ve found myself lost in a sea of to-do lists and all I know is one thing. I want chocolate. All of it. I deserve it, right? And I mean there’s fruit involved so it’s obviously health food. Don’t you dare burst my bubble and tell me otherwise.

IMG_3814

Let me tell you about my day. I went to go get my oil changed this morning and was told it would be an hour and a half wait before my car could even be serviced despite the fact that I’d made an appointment 2 days earlier. LOL BYE. So I left, ran to target because isn’t that where all annoyed people go to spend their money and feel better? Yeah well, leaving the store 60 bucks later I felt worse because I’m a broke college student and 60 bucks is 60 bucks. So I bought a 5 dollar kombucha. (logical, right?) 5 minutes later while driving, I spilled it in my car. COOL. My thoughts started racing. “Oh my god. I’m gonna get pulled over and totally get arrested cause it smells like straight booze in here. And oh s**t is there a trace amount of alcohol in this from fermentation? That’s it. If I get breathalyzed I’m going to jail.” Not my day, man. Went home, cleaned kombucha off my seats and dash, had some pizza for lunch, and tried to calm down. Sweet, sweet, comforting carbs. I was starting to feel better about this less than ideal morning.

Then mother nature decides to sucker punch me in the gut and hand me a monthly gift after this already crappy day. You gotta be kidding. I’m stressed out and now this happens? Give me some damn chocolate and don’t talk to me for like 48 hours until I’m in a sugar coma so deep I can’t hear you. Okay, slight, exaggeration. But honestly I had 2 (maybe 3?) pieces of this chocolate tart and all was right in the world. Look at it, what else could you possibly want??

IMG_3828IMG_3832It’s creamy and rich, balanced out by the tartness from the raspberries and the crunch of the almonds. Heaven on Earth, I tell ya. I highly suggest making this tart to use up any last bit of summer fruit you have laying around. I loved the chocolate/raspberry combo but it would be seriously delish with strawberries, blueberries, or even cherries! Use up what you have and make this tart your own! It’s a perfect end of summer treat and will be sure to start the school year off on a sweet note.

Here’s to hoping your day was slightly less chaotic than mine.

Cheers!

Chocolate Almond Raspberry Tart

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: 30mins
  • Print

Ingredients

for the crust:

-1 1/4 cup almond meal

-1 cup pitted dates

-pinch sea salt

-1 tablespoon melted coconut oil

for the filling:

-1 can coconut cream

-1 bag dairy free chocolate chips, semisweet or dark

-1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

-1-2 tablespoons strongly brewed coffee or espresso

-fresh raspberries and almonds for garnish

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease an 8-9 inch tart pan, preferably one with a removable bottom
  2. In a food processor, pulse the pitted dates until a paste is formed. Add in almond meal and a pinch of salt. Pulse until combined
  3. Drizzle in melted coconut oil. Pulse until dough sticks together when pinched. Pour into greased tart pan, pressing down and onto the sides until dough is evenly spread out. Prick with a fork.
  4. Bake 10 minutes until golden brown.
  5. Meanwhile, prepare the filling. Heat coconut cream in a saucepan over medium heat until bubbles form around the edges. Place chocolate chips into a glass bowl and pour the heated coconut cream over the chocolate. Let sit a few minutes to melt.
  6. Stir together the cream and chocolate until well combined and add vanilla and coffee. Stir once more.
  7. Pour into baked tart shell and top with raspberries and slivered almonds.
  8. Refrigerate 3-4 hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

