Vegan Cherry Chocolate Chip Ice cream

IMG_3337I promise that all other times, besides this one, I have self control. Normally my willpower is strong, I swear! But not this time, nope. Summer and ice cream go hand in hand and they’re currently showing no signs of letting go, thank goodness. Last week, I bought a pint of sodelicious mint chocolate chip, followed by a pint of vegan snickerdoodle (It was buy one, get one 1/2 off, okay?!) Aaaand then a few days later I may or may not have snuck a pint of halo top vanilla into my moms grocery cart. How’d that get in there?! Don’t look at me.IMG_3351Since I’m fairly new to the dairy free homemade ice cream game, I thought I’d experiment with a few recipes from notable bloggers. While all the recipes I tried were incredible, this one from Paleo Newbie was by far my favorite! I think because it reminded me of Ben and Jerry’s Cherry Garcia and nothin beats my favorite pint flavor, recreated vegan style! It takes literally no time to whip up, especially if you already have your ice cream bowl frozen and there’s a can of coconut milk in your fridge. Enjoy!

Vegan Cherry Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

from paleo newbie

1 can full fat coconut milk

1 bag fresh cherries (10 ounces)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup raw honey

1/2 cup enjoy life mini chocolate chips, omit if paleo

1. Set aside 1/4 of the cherries and finely chop the remaining 3/4. Blend the whole cherries you have set aside in the food processor or blender until smooth.

2. Add the coconut milk, vanilla, and honey to the food processor and blend on medium for about 1 minute.

3. STIR (not blend) the remaining chopped cherries into the mix and stir to combine.

4. Churn ice cream according to manufacturers instructions and add chocolate chips when mixture starts to thicken.

notes:

*Enjoy as soft serve when done churning, or pop ice cream into the freezer for a little while to harden up a bit.

*Ice cream will become very hard in freezer if left for a long period of time because of lack of preservatives. Remove ice cream 15 minutes before consumption to return to original texture.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. hannahbannahx3 says:

    Sounds delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

