Chocolate Chunk Ice Cream Sandwiches

photo-5URGENT. I’m disrupting your Saturday morning to bring to you one of the greatest ideas I’ve ever had. Let me explain. Yesterday as I was being my usual lazy self and sitting contently on the sofa binge watching Orange is the New Black (cause don’t we all?), I was so rudely interrupted from watching my girl Morello mid-emotional breakdown by a strange noise. It started off as a faint singing noise from somewhere off in the distance, but as it got louder and louder and I could distinctly make out the tune of “Pop Goes the Weasel” blaring from its speakers, I knew it was the infamous ice cream truck.

Now don’t get me wrong, I was a generous contributor to the ice cream man’s paychecks when I was a kid, always sprinting as fast as I could two streets down to the neighborhood park where I’d happily see the (now that I think of it, awfully sketchy) truck parked already with a line of customers. When it was my turn to order, I’d fish out the dollar in quarters that I’d probably stole from my parents wallet (sorry mom, I owe you) and debate between the chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwich and the poor looking, mangled spongebob popsicle that for some reason my 8 year old self loved. But let me tell you, I was no dummy. Ice cream sandwich prevailed almost every single time.

Now that I can no longer tolerate the large amount of dairy from the ice cream and grain from the cookies, there’s a 95 percent chance that I put a few ice cream men out of jobs. Hey, tough times! But a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do and when I heard that jingle coming down my street, I booked it to the kitchen, whipped up a batch of paleo chocolate chunk cookies and my favorite 1 ingredient ice cream, and went to town. Here’s how I did it:

Chocolate Chunk Ice Cream Sandwiches

16 of your favorite grain free cookies. I love using this recipe from Ambitious Kitchen. Monique is a genius, you guys!

2 previously frozen bananas, cut into chunks

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

optional ice cream add-ins: chocolate chips, 1 Tablespoon peanut butter, 1-2 Tablespoons cocoa powder, other frozen fruit (cherries would be good!!!), shredded coconut, etc)

1. Make your cookies and let cool completely. Once cool, pop them in the freezer for about 10 minutes while you make your ice cream

2. In a food processor, blend the frozen bananas, vanilla extract, and any other add ins you feel like. Blend until smooth and creamy. Pop your ice cream into the freezer for about 20-30 minutes until it holds its shape when scooped out.

3. Sandwich about 1 tablespoon of ice cream in between 2 cookies. Work in small batches as the ice cream will melt quickly. Stick sandwiches back in the freezer for 5-10 minutes, and enjoy!

notes:

* I like using Monique’s recipe for chocolate chip cookies in this specific recipe because they are more cake-like and don’t get rock hard in the freezer unlike some other cookie recipes would.

*Feel free to roll the edges of the cookie sandwich in chocolate chips, sprinkles, etc. I was in a hurry to shove these babies in my mouth so I opted for them plain.

 

Leave a Reply

